Vegas Robaina “Marshall” Adritico 2008 Regional Edicion

Make: Vegas Robaina; Exclusive to Croatia, Slovenia, Montenegro, and Bosnia

Size: Robusto

Length: 124

Gauge: 50

Country: Cuba

Wrapper: Cuban

This was a cigar I had been searching for since I had first heard they were being released because.. they were originally supposed to be La Gloria Cubana, which is one of my favourite brands. As with most regionals it seemed as they were delayed upon release.

Let’s begin these regional’s are made specifically for the Croatian Slovenian, Montenegro, and Bosnian marketplace. To date these remain the only Regional for this part of the world. The story goes something like this, after they were an announced cigar, Habanos could not secure the LGC brand name as another company, would not allow them to use the name without paying a heavy royalty. This caused tons of problems as the cigars were most likely already rolled(we will get to that later) and the boxes were already made.  In the above picture the silver plate was applied after this whole fiasco happened, and to what I have seen elsewhere, underneath is the La Gloria Cubana branding into the box. Apparently they decided to release the cigars under the Vegas Robaina brand.  The Marshal name comes from a former president to Yugoslavia, Marshal Tito who loved Cuban cigars. But this is all speculation, and investigative work done by myself and some BOTL friends.

The wrapper on the individual sticks I smoked for this review all varied in colour, from a dark maduro like wrapper to a lighter dryer habano like leaf.  The wrappers were always very toothy and smelled like a farm, with a bit of cocoa to the nose.  From just my first impressions this cigar is not a Robaina blend, but definitely LGC.  The farm like flavour is very powerful to start and a small bit of sweetness is present off the wrapper to the lips. The cold draw produces flavours of raisin, aged tobacco and gingerbread, like the cookies.

Once lit the cigar begins fairly mild and the taste of smoked oak is present, also the sweetness off the wrapper reminds me of honey.  The barnyard flavours are still there but a floral finish is a pleasant  surprise. The ash is a dirty greyish black which holds nicely.  The burn remains very sharp, and the flavours of soft nuts are beginning to break through the hay and charred wood,  flavours like pistachio, and peanut meld right into the mix.

The second third remains very similar to the start, but the cigar is beginning to get stronger.  The oak flavour is very dominate and a sweet, bread like flavour, which my taste buds reminded me of a Challah bread.  The finish has a spice flavour that distinctly reminds me of cinnamon, almost of a crème brûlée.  These flavours go very well with the King George V Blue Label scotch I paired with this cigar.

As the cigar comes to a finish the cigar is so much a LGC blend that I am almost at a lost for words that the Regional Programme would band and package a cigar under a different brand. The cigar is very Cuban in flavours and the final third provides me with some nice pepper spice and a amazing finish on those notes due to the scotch.  A bit of espresso is present in every puff until the final few centimetres. I would highly recommend this cigar to anyone who can get a hold of one.  They are by far the best regional smoke I have had and I am so happy I was able to get a box of them. If I rated cigars these would rate a 97-98 depending on the sample I had. They are that GOOD.

-JG

.

2 thoughts on “Vegas Robaina “Marshall” Adritico 2008 Regional Edicion

  1. I couldn’t agree more! A great review of a fantastic cigar! It’s sad that these are not a regular production cigar, and if they were, I believe they would be on top of the best seller list!

  2. Pingback: Vegas Robaina “Marshall” Adritico 2008 Regional Edicion, Revisited | A Canadian Gentleman

Leave a Reply

