Padron 1964 Anniversary Natural Principe

Make: Padron 1964 Anniversary Collection

Size: Principe, similar to a Petit Robusto

Length: 114mm or 4 1/2in

Gauge: 46

Country: Nicaraguan

From the Padron website 

The Padrón 1964 Anniversary Series line was introduced in 1994 to commemorate our company’s 30th anniversary.  This line consists of ten sizes that are all available in sun-grown natural and maduro wrappers.  All tobacco used in this limited production series is aged for four years, creating a smooth and complex flavor.  In honor of the age-old Cuban tradition of box-pressing cigars, the 1964 Anniversary line was introduced as a box-pressed series.  For the protection of our customers we have introduced measures to safeguard against counterfeiting with a specially designed double band featuring an individually numbered guarantee label. The Padrón 1964 Anniversary Series is consistently ranked by industry experts as one of the top brands in the world.

These cigars are incredible, I have appreciated the Padron families dedication to making such good cigars but I typically smoke Cubans as you can all tell.

Padron has changed this for me, I will be buying a lot of these in the future. Last evening I enjoyed this Principe and have had a few of them and let me tell you, I am upset the shop I visited didn’t have more sizes when I was in the states.  The cigars are beautiful, from the amazing double ring band to the way the wrapper looks in the natural light it’s proof in itself that these are well made cigars.

The first thing I noticed about the box I purchased was the cigars seemed to be capped poorly, with almost no space to cut without digging into the wrapper.  I managed to get a good cut, but I can’t imagine I will be so lucky every time.  I hope this is just something particular to the roller and how the person makes their cigars.  The Padron site shows a beautifully capped Principe, which is what I would expect from the Padron brand.

The first draws are amazing with spice, leather and a hint of butter to the lips. The cigar had a perfect burn to start and lit beautifully.  I chose a straight cut for the cigar although due to the cap issue I was considering a punch; I am very happy I risked it and used the straight cut.  After the first 10 minutes or so I started to taste some pepper, and the leather was still there.  Also the beautiful taste of perfectly aged tobacco was ever so present, which for a Cuban lover, was a welcome treat.

Into the second third there is a huge change in flavour as the spice, pepper and leather completely dissipated and a rush of butter, caramel and vanilla bean engulfed my palate.  I was happy here as this is how a quality cigar should be,  complex, full flavoured and perfectly hand crafted.  At about the half way point, cedar and soft floral notes came into the mix with the butter caramel.  Which was hard for me to put down.  I must add here that the cigar held ash and only fell three times total before it was nubbed.

The last third of this cigar was still loaded with Caramel and warm smooth tobacco.  A bit of nuttiness came into the cigar along with the spice returning and with depth.  The draw and burn continue to be perfect, no issues never had to relight or correct any burning issues.  As the cigar comes to a close, all you can taste is dark chocolate and vanilla spice.  The smoke was an incredible white and so fragrant.

I would recommend these cigars to anyone who wants to smoke a quality cigar, although if you are new to smoking you may want to have a nice meal before you sit down for something so full bodied.

-JG

5 thoughts on “Padron 1964 Anniversary Natural Principe

      • No prob. Reviews used to take me a long time too. Now I can get a review totally typed up in around 20 minutes while I’m still smoking the cigar. First 5 minutes is writing the initial flavor, then doing the appearance/construction and the intro/blend specifics so that it’s almost done as I’m smoking the stick.

      • Thanks for the pointers. Like you said it isn’t a long time to write up the reviews, getting motivated to actually sit in front of my computer is the issue. I find the iPad app a bit difficult for me to work with still.

Leave a Reply

